Home / Compare / Table order and pay
Table QR ordering: Toast, Sunday, Clover, Square and AZ
If you run Toast, use Toast's own order and pay first. On Square or Clover, their built-in QR flow covers the basics. AZ fits when your guests speak Urdu, Hindi or Punjabi at the table, when you want every order paid before it is cooked, and when you want someone to set it up and run it with your staff.
Table ordering compared
| Order at table | Pay at table | Several phones, one tab | Menu languages for guests | Works with | Price (vendor-published) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AZ table flowbuilt for you, run with you | Yes, guest taps the table on a floor plan | Yes, pay before cooking. Apple Pay, Google Pay, Zelle backup | Yes, one live cart and one kitchen ticket | English plus Urdu, Hindi, Gujarati, Punjabi, Arabic, Spanish. Cooks still get English | Clover (proven in our restaurant). Other POS checked first | No price list. Quoted per restaurant |
| Toast Mobile Order & Pay | Yes | Yes, tab or pay-as-you-go. Pay-the-check QR included with Core POS | Yes, Group Ordering | Not stated on the pages we read | Toast only | Not published |
| Sunday | Yes (order and pay option) | Yes, its core product | Not stated | Not stated | Toast, Square, Micros, Brink, Lightspeed, NCR Aloha and others. No Clover found | Not published. Its FAQ says guests pay a small fee |
| me&u (merged with Mr Yum) | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated on pages we could read | Not published |
| Clover Scan to Order | Yes, table QR from the dashboard | Yes, plus Scan to Pay on the printed bill | Not stated | Not stated | Clover only | Included in Counter and Table Service plans (Canada page; US unconfirmed) |
| Square QR ordering | Yes, QR mapped to tables | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Square only | Needs Square Online Plus or Premium; QR codes free |
| DoorDash Tableside Order & Pay (ex-Bbot) | Yes, QR or handheld | Yes, open tabs and settle digitally | Tabs yes; shared ordering described in 2022 coverage only | Not stated | Toast, Square, Revel and others | Subscription plus processing, no commission. Free trial. Dollar figure not published |
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
"Not stated" means we could not find it on the vendor's own page in October 2026. It does not mean the product lacks it. Ask the vendor.
Where they beat us, and where we are different
Where competitors are stronger
- Toast is built into the POS. If you run Toast, its own order and pay has fewer moving parts than anything added on top.
- Sunday and me&u have run pay-at-table across thousands of restaurants. Ours is proven in one restaurant, our own.
- Square and Clover include a basic QR order flow with their plans. If you only want guests to pay faster, start there.
- Self-serve vendors let you sign up tonight. We start with a conversation and set it up with you.
What AZ does differently
- Your guests' languages. The table menu reads in Urdu, Hindi, Gujarati, Punjabi, Arabic or Spanish, and an older guest can talk to the assistant to add dishes. The kitchen ticket stays in English.
- Paid before it is cooked. No unpaid tickets, no walk-outs. If a card fails, the guest gets a plain-words fix and another way to pay.
- Part of one connected system. The same menu, sold-out dishes and guest list run the phone, the website and the table. Turn a dish off once and it is off everywhere.
- We run it with you. We set the tip buttons, the table cards and the staff script, then watch the numbers until it works.
What happened when we switched
dine-in orders in the last 14 days were ordered and paid on the guest's phone. In mid-August it was 0 of 17.
app orders in 60 days were paid before cooking. Zero unpaid tickets.
guest languages on the table menu, each with all 493 screen strings translated.
Wok & Karahi, Spring TX, counted from Clover on Oct 15, 2026. One thing to plan for: after pay-first, fewer dine-in guests tipped. We now size tip buttons to the bill.
Where these facts come from
Each vendor fact was checked in October 2026. Where a page blocked automated reading, we used the vendor's help centre or a dated news source and say so.
- Toast: Guest experience for Mobile Order & Pay (group ordering, tabs) - read Oct 2026
- Toast: Setting up mobile payments and digital menus - search summary of Toast's help page, Oct 2026
- Toast: Sunday partner integration - search summary, page updated Mar 2026
- Sunday - site blocked automated reading; POS list and guest-fee line from its FAQ via search, Oct 2026
- me&u (mryum.com now redirects here) - redirect checked Oct 2026; pricing not published
- Clover Scan to Order - Canada page, Oct 2026; US terms not confirmed
- Square QR code ordering - read Oct 2026 (Australian page)
- DoorDash Tableside Order & Pay - read Oct 2026
Questions owners ask
What is table QR order and pay?
Guests scan a code on the table, see the menu on their own phone, order and pay there. The ticket goes to the kitchen with the table number. Nobody has to wait for a server to take the order or bring the check.
Does Clover have its own table QR ordering?
Clover has a Scan to Order feature that prints a table QR from the dashboard, and its Canadian page says online ordering is included in the Counter Service and Table Service plans. We could not confirm the current US terms on a Clover page, so ask your Clover rep. Our own restaurant runs on Clover with the AZ table flow on top of it.
Which is better for a Toast restaurant?
If you are on Toast, start with Toast Mobile Order & Pay. It is built into the POS, supports group ordering on one tab and is the least moving parts. We would only add to it where it leaves a gap, such as menu languages or the way pay-first is set up.
Can several people at one table order from their own phones?
Toast Mobile Order & Pay supports group ordering on one tab. The AZ table flow joins every phone at a table into one live cart and one kitchen ticket. For Sunday, me&u and Square we could not find this stated on their own pages.
Does pay-first hurt tips?
It can. When guests pay before the food arrives, some tip less. We saw it at our own restaurant and plan for it with every client: tip buttons sized to the bill and a clear prompt.
What does AZ charge for table ordering?
We do not publish a price list. Every restaurant starts with a call about what it wants replaced, and we quote that job. No vendor commissions.
Tell us what is hurting. We show you it working on your menu.
Same-day reply. No vendor commissions, so we recommend whatever fits, including a tool on this page that is not ours.
More comparisons